Soldier Girls The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War Book photo 1
July 30th, 2015 by admin

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War Book
Book Title:

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by: Scribner

Product rating: 4.3 with 173 reviews


“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and familiesnamed a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly.

“In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable” (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home…and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again.

Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is “a breakthrough work…What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history…Thorpe triumphs” (The New York Times Book Review).

Posted in Women Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Here She Comes Now Women in Music Who Have Changed Our Lives Book picture 01
July 25th, 2015 by admin

Here She Comes Now: Women in Music Who Have Changed Our Lives Book
Book Title:

Here She Comes Now: Women in Music Who Have Changed Our Lives

by: Rare Bird Books, A Barnacle Book

Product rating: 5.0 with 1 reviews


Whether it was Patti Smith’s angry moan, Nina Simone’s guttural growl, or Dolly Parton’s towering hair and sweet voice, women have been a musical force to be reckoned with. In Here She Comes Now, today’s biggest and brightest writers tackle their favorite female musicians and the effect they’ve had on their own lives. From Rosie Schaap writing about Sandy Denny to Susan Choi writing about Stevie Nicks to Elissa Schappell writing about Kim Gordon, Here She Comes Now thoughtfully and lovingly discusses the extreme badassery of the women who break through all the barriers to truly rock.

Posted in History & Criticism Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

Women and C.S. Lewis Book image 001
July 23rd, 2015 by admin

Women and C.S. Lewis Book
Book Title:

Women and C.S. Lewis

by: Lion Hudson

Product rating: 4.0 with 2 reviews


A collection of interviews and essays from a group of distinguished scholars and bloggers writing on the theme of Lewis and women, in his life and writings
 

Sexism in Narnia? Or Screwtape? Or among the Inklings? Critics have labelled C.S. Lewis a sexist, even a misogynist. Did the life and writing of the hugely popular British author and professor betray attitudes that today are unacceptable, even deplorable?

The younger Lewis was criticized for a mysterious living arrangement with a woman, but his later marriage to an American poet, Joy Davidman, became a celebrated love story. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien formed a legendary literary group, the Inklings – but without women.

Women and C.S. Lewis features academics and writers who come together to investigate the accusations: Alister McGrath, Randy Alcorn, Monika Hilder, Holly Ordway, Don W. King, Kathy Keller, Colin Duriez, Crystal Hurd, Jeanette Sears, David C. Downing, Michael Ward, Devin Brown, Malcolm Guite, Joy Jordan-Lake, Steven Elmore, Andrew Lazo, Mary Poplin, Christin Ditchfield, Lyle W. Dorsett, Paul McCusker, Crystal Downing, Kasey Macsenti, Brett McCracken, John Stonestreet, Kelly Belmonte, Brad Davis. Women and C.S. Lewis provides broad and satisfying answers. Editors are Carolyn Curtis, veteran journalist and book author; Mary Pomroy Key, Director, C.S. Lewis Study Center, Northfield, Massachusetts.


Posted in Authors Tagged with: , , ,

The Sisters Are Alright Changing the Broken Narrative of Black Women in America Book picture 01
May 16th, 2015 by admin

The Sisters Are Alright: Changing the Broken Narrative of Black Women in America Book
Book Title:

The Sisters Are Alright: Changing the Broken Narrative of Black Women in America

by: Berrett-Koehler Publishers

Product rating: 4.8 with 23 reviews


What’s wrong with black women? Not a damned thing!

The Sisters Are Alright exposes anti–black-woman propaganda and shows how real black women are pushing back against distorted cartoon versions of themselves.

When African women arrived on American shores, the three-headed hydra—servile Mammy, angry Sapphire, and lascivious Jezebel—followed close behind. In the ’60s, the Matriarch, the willfully unmarried baby machine leeching off the state, joined them. These stereotypes persist to this day through newspaper headlines, Sunday sermons, social media memes, cable punditry, government policies, and hit song lyrics. Emancipation may have happened more than 150 years ago, but America still won’t let a sister be free from this coven of caricatures.

Tamara Winfrey Harris delves into marriage, motherhood, health, sexuality, beauty, and more, taking sharp aim at pervasive stereotypes about black women. She counters warped prejudices with the straight-up truth about being a black woman in America. “We have facets like diamonds,” she writes. “The trouble is the people who refuse to see us sparkling.”

Posted in African-American Studies Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

Through a Man's Eyes Helping Women Understand the Visual Nature of Men Book photo 1
April 25th, 2015 by admin

Through a Man's Eyes: Helping Women Understand the Visual Nature of Men Book
Book Title:

Through a Man’s Eyes: Helping Women Understand the Visual Nature of Men

by: Multnomah Books

Product rating: 4.8 with 9 reviews


What Happens When Women See What Men See?
 
 
You already know that your husband, boyfriend, or son is wired differently from you, but do you know what that really means? It means, among other things, that he’s been given the gift of a unique visual wiring—and the challenges that come with it.
In Through a Man’s Eyes, Shaunti Feldhahn and Craig Gross team up to help open our eyes to something we are often blind to. They address questions like:
·         “Why are guys so visual—and what does that mean, anyway?”
·         “How do I help my son navigate this sex-crazed culture?”
·         “How dare someone tell a woman to watch what she wears! Isn’t it a man’s responsibility not to look?”
·         “If he’s tempted by visual images, is there something wrong with him? With me?”
·         “My husband is an honorable guy, so why would he be tempted by porn?”
·         “How can I talk to my husband or son about this? What can I do to support him?”
Through the compassion and candor in this book, we can learn what men have long wished we knew (but didn’t know how to explain)—and see the difference it makes when we do!

Posted in Love & Romance Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,