Mary Ellen Mark on the Portrait and the Moment The Photography Workshop Series Book image 001
July 17th, 2015 by admin

Mary Ellen Mark on the Portrait and the Moment: The Photography Workshop Series Book
Book Title:

Mary Ellen Mark on the Portrait and the Moment: The Photography Workshop Series

by: Aperture

Product rating: 5.0 with 6 reviews


In The Photography Workshop Series, Aperture Foundation works with the world’s top photographers to distill their creative approaches, teachings and insights on photography-offering the workshop experience in a book. The goal is to inspire photographers of all levels who wish to improve their work, as well as readers interested in deepening their understanding of the art of photography. Each volume is introduced by a student of the featured photographer. In this book, Mary Ellen Mark (born 1940)-well known for the emotional power of her pictures, be they of people or animals-offers her insight on observing the world and capturing dramatic moments that reveal more than the reality at hand. Through words and pictures, she shares her own creative process and discusses a wide range of issues, from gaining the trust of the subject and taking pictures that are controlled but unforced, to organizing the frame so that every part contributes toward telling the story.

Posted in Reference Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

The Mark of the Dragonfly Book picture 1
May 10th, 2015 by admin

The Mark of the Dragonfly Book
Book Title:

The Mark of the Dragonfly

by: Yearling

Product rating: 4.3 with 135 reviews


For fans of The City of Ember and The School of Good and Evil, The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy, set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous.
    Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.
    The girl doesn’t remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she’s from the Dragonfly Territories and that she’s protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.
    The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect—everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.
    Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey.

[STAR] “This magnetic middle-grade debut…[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal.”-Publishers Weekly, starred

[STAR] “Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum.”-Kirkus Reviews, starred

[STAR] “A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic…Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot.”-School Library Journal, starred

View larger


Posted in Friendship Tagged with: , ,

Magnificent Mark Unlock your awesomeness and make your teenage years remarkable Book picture 001
April 29th, 2015 by admin

Magnificent Mark: Unlock your awesomeness and make your teenage years remarkable Book
Book Title:

Magnificent Mark: Unlock your awesomeness and make your teenage years remarkable

by: Overboard Ministries

Product rating: 5.0 with 8 reviews


“Magnificent Mark: Unlock your awesomeness and make your teenage years remarkable” is a book written to challenge teenagers. Danny Ray, a world-class magician and seasoned communicator, shares heart-warming, humorous and relatable stories from his own youth that will help students engage the concepts of this book. Most of all, however, he teaches a life-changing biblical truth that a teenager’s awesomeness isn’t found in trying to be like someone else, but rather, in fully embracing the person that God made them to be. Once they discover their God-designed greatness, they will be ready to leave a MARK in the world around them.

Posted in Youth Ministry Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,