Bernice Gets Carried Away Book photo 1
July 16th, 2015 by admin

Bernice Gets Carried Away Book
Book Title:

Bernice Gets Carried Away

by: Dial Books

Product rating: 5.0 with 1 reviews


Perfect for a new generation of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day readers, this charming story about a grumpy cat gently shows how far a little sharing can go.
 
Bernice is having a truly rotten time at her friend’s birthday party. First, everyone else gets a piece of cake with a frosting rose. But not Bernice. Then, everyone else gets strawberry-melon soda. Bernice gets the prune-grapefruit juice. And it’s warm. The last straw is the one lousy (squished) candy she gets from the piñata. So when the balloons arrive, Bernice knows just what she has to do: grab them all. And then, poor cross Bernice gets carried up, up, and away. Luckily, she figures out just how to make her way back down to the party…and she brightens lots of other animals’ days on her way.

Hannah Harrison’s gorgeous animal paintings come alive in her second picture book. Her “exceptionally polished” debut, Extraordinary Jane, received starred reviews from Kirkus, Publisher’s Weekly, and  School Library Journal.
 

Posted in Cats Tagged with: , , , ,

The Moon is Going to Addy's House Book picture 1
July 5th, 2015 by admin

The Moon is Going to Addy's House Book
Book Title:

The Moon is Going to Addy’s House

by: Dial Books

Product rating: 5.0 with 7 reviews


This gentle, poetic bedtime story about a little girl and the friendly moon is perfect for fans of Ezra Jack Keats and Kevin Henkes

After a play date in the city, Addy heads home to the country with her family. And through the long drive, the moon seems to be following them closely—Addy’s faithful guardian and friend.

The comforting sense that the moon is your own personal companion is universal to childhood, and Ida Pearle has depicted it beautifully through her lyrical text and soft, sleepy cut-paper collage illustrations. This is a book that children will ask to hear every night at bedtime.

Posted in Sleep Tagged with: , , , ,

I am Lucille Ball (Ordinary People Change World) Book photo 001
July 4th, 2015 by admin

I am Lucille Ball (Ordinary People Change World) Book
Book Title:

I am Lucille Ball (Ordinary People Change World)

by: Dial Books

Product rating: 4.7 with 7 reviews


“We can all be heroes” is the message of this picture-book biography series from #1 New York Times Bestselling author Brad Meltzer.

“Kids always search for heroes, so we might as well have a say in it,” Brad Meltzer realized, and so he envisioned this friendly, fun approach to biography—for his own kids, and for yours. Each book tells the story of one of America’s icons in a vivacious, conversational way that works well for the youngest nonfiction readers, those who aren’t quite ready for the Who Was biography series. Each book focuses on a particular character trait that made that role model heroic. For example, Lucille Ball could make any situation funny. By making people around the world laugh, she proved that humor can take on anything.

This engaging series is the perfect way to bring American history to life for young children, providing them with the right role models, supplementing Common Core learning in the classroom, and best of all, inspiring them to strive and dream.

Posted in Television & Radio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Dory and the Real True Friend (Dory Fantasmagory) Book picture 001
June 16th, 2015 by admin

Dory and the Real True Friend (Dory Fantasmagory) Book
Book Title:

Dory and the Real True Friend (Dory Fantasmagory)

by: Dial Books

Product rating: 4.5 with 2 reviews


Fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean will love this new story about the spunky little rascal with big ideas.

The star of Dory Fantasmagory is heading to school. Her older siblings, Luke and Violet, warn her to leave her imaginary friend, Mary, at home—or better yet, leave her whole imagination at home! Dory is determined to behave like a “regular old girl who never gets in trouble,” but on her very first day she meets a new friend, a girl whose imagination and style are just about as wild as her own. Now she just has to convince her siblings that she’s not making it all up!

Filled with plenty of funny pictures, this book bursts with charm and impudence, making this a must-read for the chapter book set.
 

Posted in Siblings Tagged with: , , , , ,