Dancing with the Devil in the City of God Rio de Janeiro on the Brink Book image 1
August 13th, 2015 by admin

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink Book
Book Title:

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink

by: Touchstone

Product rating: 5.0 with 1 reviews


In the tradition of Detroit: An American Autopsy and Maximum City comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa.

Juliana Barbassa moved a great deal throughout her life, but Rio was always home. After twenty-one years abroad, she returned to find the city that once ravaged by inflation, drug wars, corrupt leaders, and dying neighborhoods was now on the precipice of a major change.

Rio has always aspired to the pantheon of global capitals, and under the spotlight of the 2014 World Cup and the 2016 Olympic Games it seems that its moment has come. But in order to prepare itself for the world stage, Rio must vanquish the entrenched problems that Barbassa recalls from her childhood. Turning this beautiful but deeply flawed place into a predictable, pristine showcase of the best that Brazil has to offer in just a few years is a tall order—and with the whole world watching, the stakes couldn’t be higher.

With a cast of larger-than-life characters who are driving this fast-moving juggernaut or who risk getting caught in its gears, this kaleidoscopic portrait of Rio introduces the reader to the people who make up this city of extremes, revealing their aspirations and their grit, their violence, their hungers and their splendor, and shedding light on the future of this city they are building together.

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God is an insider perspective into a city on the brink from a native daughter whose life, hopes, and fortunes are entwined with those of the city she portrays.

Posted in Economics Tagged with: , , , , , ,

The Duke Can Go to the Devil A Prelude to a Kiss Novel Book image 01
July 30th, 2015 by admin

The Duke Can Go to the Devil: A Prelude to a Kiss Novel Book
Book Title:

The Duke Can Go to the Devil: A Prelude to a Kiss Novel

by: Signet

Product rating: 4.5 with 32 reviews


In the new novel from the bestselling author of The Earl I Adore, May Bradford isn’t afraid to play devil’s advocate when it comes to a duke.…

After her mother’s death, May’s sea captain father sends her halfway around the world to live with his stodgy sister in England. The summer festival in Bath made for a lovely distraction, but now she can’t wait for her father’s return so she can leave this country, its suffocating rules, and one infuriatingly proper nobleman in particular behind.

Because he is the Duke of Radcliffe, William Spencer’s whole life revolves around his duties. He never steps foot outside the bounds of proper behavior, and he expects the same of those around him. With her devil-may-care ways, May vexes him nearly as much as she tempts him, but there’s something about her that he just can’t resist. He knows he’s falling hard for her, but with lives that are worlds apart, will they ever be able to find any common ground?

Posted in Regency Tagged with: , , , , ,

The Devil Is a Part-Timer, Vol. 2 (manga) (The Devil Is a Part-Timer Manga) Book photo 001
May 20th, 2015 by admin

The Devil Is a Part-Timer, Vol. 2 (manga) (The Devil Is a Part-Timer Manga) Book
Book Title:

The Devil Is a Part-Timer, Vol. 2 (manga) (The Devil Is a Part-Timer Manga)

by: Yen Press

Product rating: 5.0 with 1 reviews


Old Friends, new enemies! In the Sasazuka neighborhood of the Shibuya district of Tokyo, newly minted part-time burger-flipper and former Devil King Satan (now known as Sadao Maou) clashes with Lucifer, a fallen angel who used to serve him! But how will the onetime king deal with his rival now that his magic power’s run dry? Now that the devil is one of us, he’s going to have to get creative!

Posted in Fantasy Tagged with: , , , ,