Category: Westerns

Slater's Way Book photo 01
August 11th, 2015 by admin

Slater's Way Book
Book Title:

Slater’s Way

by: Signet

Product rating: 5.0 with 7 reviews


The author of The Devil’s Posse returns with the tale of one man’s journey from mines to mountain trails and the dangers hunting him every step of the way.…

After gunfire and fear of the law drive him away from his home, young John Slater Engels is forced to seek refuge in the mountains of Montana. There he meets Teddy Lightfoot, who invites the boy to live with his wife and him in a small Crow village nestled in the Absaroka Mountains. In case lawmen are still searching for him, Engels decides to drop his legal name, keeping only his middle name: Slater.

As the years go by and Slater grows into manhood, he also becomes an excellent scout—so much so that he’s hired to assist the soldiers based out of Fort Ellis. But just when Slater’s future begins to look bright, he crosses paths with a dangerous Sioux war chief named Iron Pony, who vows to take his life. And as Slater’s past comes back to haunt him, he’s forced to make some tough decisions—decisions that may cost him everything he holds dear.…

Posted in Westerns Tagged with: ,

A Hanging at Cinder Bottom A Novel Book picture 001
June 27th, 2015 by admin

A Hanging at Cinder Bottom: A Novel Book
Book Title:

A Hanging at Cinder Bottom: A Novel

by: Tin House Books

Product rating: 5.0 with 4 reviews


Stylish historical fiction in the tradition of True Grit and Carter Beats the Devil, A Hanging at Cinder Bottom is an epic novel of exile and retribution, a heist tale and a love story both.

The year is 1910. Halley’s Comet has just signaled the end of the world, and Jack Johnson has knocked out the “Great White Hope,” Jim Jeffries. Keystone, West Virginia, is the region’s biggest boomtown, and on a rainy Sunday morning in August, its townspeople are gathered in a red-light district known as Cinder Bottom to witness the first public hanging in over a decade. Abe Baach and Goldie Toothman are at the gallows, awaiting their execution. He’s Keystone’s most famous poker player; she’s the madam of its most infamous brothel. Abe split town seven years prior under suspicion of armed robbery and murder, and has been playing cards up and down the coast, hustling under a variety of pseudonyms, ever since. But when he returns to Keystone to reunite with Goldie and to set the past right, he finds a brother dead and his father’s saloon in shambles―and suspects the same men might be responsible for both. Only then, in facing his family’s past, does the real swindle begin.

Glenn Taylor, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, has a unique voice that breathes life into history and a prose style that snaps with lyricism and comedy.

Posted in Westerns Tagged with: , , , ,

Arizona Territory (A Byrnes Family Ranch Novel) Book picture 01
May 14th, 2015 by admin

Arizona Territory (A Byrnes Family Ranch Novel) Book
Book Title:

Arizona Territory (A Byrnes Family Ranch Novel)

by: Pinnacle

Product rating: 5.0 with 3 reviews


“Dusty takes readers into the real west at full gallop.” —New York Times bestselling author Jodi Thomas

Western Heritage and Spur award-winning author Dusty Richards tells the thrilling saga of Chet Byrnes, a man who brought the spirit of Texas into Arizona Territory—and the guns to back it up…

Have Gun, Will Battle

Chet Byrnes has built a ranching empire from the ground up. And he’s defended it with his sweat, blood and a ragtag band of ranch-hand fighters. Now a beautiful young Spanish widow comes into Chet’s life, just as he starts off in search of a lost cattle drive. The search leads into the eye of a sprawling, violent storm.

Chet, and his men—and his seductive new woman—end up on a wild ride through Nebraska, Colorado and Kansas, where authorities want to confiscate the beeves for trespassing. With Indians, outlaws and an oppressive government crossing their path, Chet is on a cowboy’s honeymoon: fighting and shooting all the way back home.

“Dusty Richards writes…with the flavor of the real West.” —Elmer Kelton

Posted in Westerns Tagged with: , , , , , ,