Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy

Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy Book
Book Title:

Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy

by: Del Rey

Product rating: 4.3 with 185 reviews

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.
“I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.”
A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers.
She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.
Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

Advance praise for Alive
“A ripping, claustrophobic thunderbolt of a novel, Scott Sigler’s Alive gives us an unforgettable young hero who must find the inner strength to lead without knowing where she is, who she is, and how bitterly the odds are stacked against her.”—Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising
“Sigler has created a wonderful and engrossing character in M. Savage. Strong and smart, but with the naïveté and misgivings of any teenage girl, she’s someone you’ll definitely want on your side when s*** hits the fan, which it most certainly does.”—Veronica Belmont, host of Sword & Laser
“A tense, unsettling page-turner of a story—both deeply strange and wildly compelling.”—Cherie Priest, author of Boneshaker and Maplecroft
“From the first page I was hooked. The puzzle unfolds masterfully, right down to the last page.”—Dr. Phil Plait, author of Bad Astronomy

An Amazon Best Book of July 2015: Scott Sigler’s new sci-fi thriller is easily one of the best “Wow, what will happen next?” books to be published this year so far. A 17-year-old girl wakes up in what appears to be a white coffin—surrounded by other 17-year-olds, half of whom are dead in their coffins. The macabre situation gets stranger because those who did survive can’t quite remember their names or their histories, nor do they understand why they have strange symbols marked on their foreheads. Are they underground? Why is the tunnel they follow seemingly endless? And is anyone else alive? When they encounter another group of semi-adults, battles for leadership ensue, and those with the same symbols band together. But they are slowly becoming aware there is something else out there, and they will survive only if they stick together. Sigler balances the yin of high-octane shocks that come around each curve of the tunnel with the yang of Sun Tzu-like wisdom on tactics and leadership that have been mysteriously embedded in the mind of the main character, Em. As Em leads her survivors toward—she hopes—freedom, we stay on edge until the last page. And even then, tension about the group’s ultimate fate thrums like an electrical current under the skin, so thank goodness there’s another book coming in this trilogy. –Adrian Liang

June 6th, 2015 by